RAVE REVIEWS FOR THE UNION

We have served both wedding and corporate clients since 2011.  Below you'll find just some of unsolicited rave reviews we have received. We are proud to have cultivated an outstanding reputation in the special events industry by going above and beyond for our clients to realize their unique vision.

WEDDING REVIEWS

5 STAR YELP REVIEW

"...These guys are THE best wedding band either of us have ever seen.  Maybe even one of the best live bands we've ever seen.  And I've seen Neil Diamond Play.  I think you're picking up what I'm layin' down here.  Literally everybody we talked to during the ceremony and afterwards said something like [And I paraphrase] your band was amazeballs! "

Laura and Julie
Ignite Glass Studio

Photo Credit: Steve Koo Photography

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT

“Thank you for making this weekend SO special for us!! Because of you guys, this weekend was truly magical! I can’t tell you how many compliments we got on your band and how impressed everyone was that you guys really can rock!

Thank you for learning Waste (and killing it) and even throwing in a little Falling Slowly at the end without us asking. Everything was perfect and we cannot thank you guys enough! From day 1 you were such a pleasure to work with!

So thank you, thank you again for going above and beyond! Our wedding wouldn’t have been the same without you guys there!”

Jen & Patrick Kelly
October 28th 2017
Loews Chicago O’Hare

LOVED WORKING WITH YOU

“Loved working with you. Look forward to working together again. I will recommend you.  Loved the music ”

Stephanie Cook - The Creative Planners
October 28th 2017
Loews Chicago O’Hare

AMAZING SHOW!

“I wanted to say thank you for making the Tracy / Calhoun wedding such a success!
Simply put — you guys put on an amazing show!!
The dance floor was moving all night long!”

Becky Brown Photography

Ashley (Wedding Planner)
June 11th 2016
Venue One 
 Five Grain Events

YOU. GUYS . ROCK!

“You. Guys. Rock. Seriously, you absolutely blew us away and were the talk of the wedding!”

Jenny & Tim
June 3rd 2017
Artifact Events

MADE THE NIGHT

“Thanks a million times you guys made the night. I️ lost count of the number of times we’ve been told the band was awesome!”

Chris and Jade
Nov 11th 2017
Loews Hotel Chicago 

THRILLED

“Saturday night was so much fun.  The Hilder’s were thrilled with everything and certainly the band was top of that list!  You guys were awesome! It was really fun working with you and I hope we get the opportunity to work together again soon!”

Niki Eisenstein - BCR Events
Nov 11th 2017
Loews Hotel Chicago

YOU GUYS MADE IT HAPPEN !

“Dear Matt, 

What a wonderful party we gave on Sunday September 6th. AND YOU GUYS MADE IT HAPPEN !! Matt , the band, the playlist, the singers were wonderful. We as the hosts had an easy time with the whole flow of the party. You as the Emcee for the evening guided the guests to and from the dance floor in an easy way for servers to serve. 

I repeat, my New York crowd, and you know demanding they can be, just loved the music and your group. Thank you again. I know I can recommend you in a heartbeat. Feel free to use our name as a reference.”

Wendy and Rich Marx
September 6th 2015
The Newberry Library

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

“Absolutely amazing, killer, epic funnies and just all around crushed it Friday night!!!!!! We could not thank you and your band enough honestly – we and our guests were blown away by you and your band honestly – we and our guests were blown away by you and your band’s range of songs, style and talent! As a person who appreciates the arts, a good party and the importance of having a magical bridal moment you absolutely exceeded my expectations. – I felt like a cloud was especially laid out for me coming down the aisle with your beautiful music and the signed sealed delivered was perfection as James and I took our first steps as husband and wife! – I have a tear just thinking of the beautiful emotion that was highlighted from you music. The next day people were saying things like “best band ever” “made the night” “awesome party!’ ‘Feet are dying from dancing all night” and ‘wow can’t believe your band played for 7 hours!!!’. Latin music to Zac Brown Band to Mumford to Motown – insane!’
Complete perfection my friend. I hope the other couples got to come see and enjoy your talents and if they don’t sign you they are crazy! We can be your references anytime 🙂 ”

Hayne & James
Nov 6 2016
Cafe Braeur

BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE

Thank YOU for a tremendous evening of unbelievable music! My parents cannot stop talking about the Motown set 🙂 which we, of course, loved as well. You guys helped to make the evening truly the best night of my life — thank you for the music, your team’s polish and professionalism, and keeping that dance floor packed!
If you need a reference in the future, let us know.”

Aimee and Nigel
Aug 27th 2015
Ivy Room

IT WAS ELECTRIC

“You did such an amazing job with the song choices through out the night. I don’t think I’ll ever forget “I Will Wait” from Mumford – no joke, one of the best memories I have is turning around to face the crowd during that song and seeing every single person on the dance floor jumping and singing along with us. It was electric. I’m getting chills thinking about it now.
The day was literally perfect. There was nothing that we would change, not a thing we regret or wish we would have done differently. I will ALWAYS recommend you for any event. Hands down, the best decision we made during planning.
We hope to keep in touch!”

Mike and Amanda
May 4th 2013
Chicago History Museum

FANTASTIC JOB

“Thank you so much for the fantastic job you all did for our wedding. I can’t even begin to tell you how many of our guests have told us what a great time they had because of the fabulous music. Fro the beginning you really worked with us…and we always felt like we were in good hands. Thank you again for everything..and please everyone in the band thank you from us.”

Sara & AJ
October 26 2013
Chicago Golf Club

5 STAR WEDDING WIRE REVIEW

“We hired Matt Lewis & The Union for our wedding and it was the perfect fit!!!!! Our initial prep meeting was at The Green Mill. Matt has a standing gig on Thursday nights with ALAN GRESIK SWING SHIFT ORCHESTRA. We had a blast seeing Matt perform in his element and it only made us more excited for our wedding. The day of our wedding, Matt Lewis & The Union had EVERYONE on the dance floor. They were absolutely phenomenal and read the crowd perfectly. Our favorite part was that he played the music we love and not just the regular “wedding songs.” It truly was a magical evening all night and we could not have chosen a more perfect band to help us celebrate.”

Jenni S
October 13th 1017
The Ivy Room

5 STAR YELP REVIEW

“We booked Matt Lewis and The Union for our wedding band and they were quite simply, the best. Matt is extremely sweet and really wants to make sure everyone at your wedding has a fabulous time (which they clearly did because I’ve already had people asking about them for their weddings!). They were so so fun! Every single person was on the dance floor, from young cousins to our grandparents. They also provided incredible music for our ceremony that was so beautiful, it took my breath away. They are willing to learn new songs, and are beyond accommodating. Matt even went out of his way to have my Dad play a couple songs with them (a bucket list event for him that he can’t stop talking about!). Book them for your wedding/or event. They’re professionals and so worth it!”

Glynn D.
April 29th 2017
The Ivy Room

WE WERE BLOWN AWAY

“I cannot tell you enough what a wonderful job you did on Saturday night and how many people complemented us on the music. As they say” you rocked it”! We were blown away by your music and your professionalism . If you ever need a reference, do not hesitate to call us!”

Georgiana Macey
July 12th 2014
The Peninsula Chicago

ONE MORE SONG, ONE MORE SONG!

“We wanted to send you a quick note thanking you and your band for an exceptional performance at our wedding on June 14th. It is very rare that you go to a wedding and everyone that started on the dance floor at the beginning of the night was still on the dance floor 3 consecutive hours later and then chatting, “one more song, one more song” when the evening was over.
You and the band performed every song perfectly, played the songs that everyone was dancing to and you all truly rocked it all night.
Thank you for everything you also did leading up to the big day. You were personable, responsive and so easy to work with. All of our family and friends are still talking about how exceptional the band was.”

Carley and Mike
June 14th 2014
The Onwentsia Club

YOU NAILED THE CROWD AND WHAT THEY WANTED TO HEAR

“We’re just getting back into reality after our 2 weeks in the Maldives and being disconnected from the world (meaning- intentionally ignoring all email). Thank you so much for an awesome performance that blew away the guests- and blew me away. You say Too. Much. Fun. I say Way. Too. Awesome. You guys flat out rocked. During dinner a huge PJ fan asked if we had Edie Vedder up on stage and that is only one of many compliments we heard. Every song you played- you nailed and owned it. Every guest I spoke to said you were the best band that they had ever seen/heard at a wedding and many said your were one of the best cover bands they had seen period. You nailed the crowd and what they wanted to hear (even playing Timber twice….. delaying the start of it the second time…. so that Joan could dance to it). The night was an absolute blur for me- though I heard every request that I had made (and I know from a set list and flow perspective- that a lot of it didn’t fit well together- but you made it work and I know that wasn’t easy). From Green Eyes during a break, to little talks, to PJ and even rocking out to Foo Fighter’s Pretender (and the special break with all songs from bands we had seen- noted and mentioned to Joan who thought it was sweet). I still can’t believe that you had the dance floor completely packed right through Ho Hey at midnight. We had been to 5 or 6 weddings in the past 9 months or so and by 11 or so- the dance floor is usually half full. You guys kept it full all night long.
Please let us know if you guys play any public events (or even charity events open to public ticket purchase) as we would absolutely love to see you guys live again and again. Also- please let us know which sites we should leave some reviews on that could help you get more business. You guys blew us away and we want to make sure others make the wise decision of hiring you (I know a few folks took your card- including another person who is as into music as I am- so hopefully you get a few bookings just from our crowd!).
Thank you again for everything and for your patience in dealing with us. I know I was very particular when it came to the right band and had a lot of random requests- so thank you for dealing with that and for being Way. Too. Awesome. “

Mike & Joan Murphy
May 31st 2014
The Langham Chicago

THE TIME OF OUR LIVES!

Jeff and I just wanted to say thank you to you and the band for an amazing wedding reception performance! You guys were great — and as you could probably tell, our guests didn’t want to get off the dance floor as we were all having the time of our lives!
Your band set the perfect mood for our celebration — fun, lively, exciting and personable. We really appreciate you taking the time to listen to what we wanted to hear (even if it is was the Michigan State fight song!) and making the night so memorable. From bringing back the 90’s with Montell Jordan to bopping around to Paul Simon with my dad to Jeff’s Rolling Stones dance with his 96-year old great aunt, we had the time of our life and thank you for all of your help leading up to and on the special day.
You have a very calming (yet energizing) factor and you made us feel at ease and know everything was taken care of. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you — serve as a referral or whatever. Also, keep us posted on upcoming gigs — we’d love to hear you guys again! Thanks again for sharing your talent, energy and creativity with us! 4.6.13 was a night to remember!

Erika and Jeff
April 6th 2013
Fulton's on the River

YOU UNDERSTOOD OUR VISION AND KNEW EXACTLY HOW TO BRING IT TO LIFE

“Hi Matt!
You’ve been on our minds too, so thank you for the email.
You and your band did an unbelievable job on 9/8. You made our wedding SO MUCH fun for us and all of our friends and family. We had so many people tell us how awesome you guys were. AND, I think it’s a huge testament to your awesomeness when young and older people alike stayed until your encore was over. I mean, what band gets asked to play an encore at a wedding!!?? And trust us, we wish you could have played 20 more encores that night. I am seriously blown away by the amount of talent you and your band members have. Thank you for sharing that with us!
Thanks also for taking the time to learn all the songs we had mentioned to you. We loved the Robyn song (particularly me:) and Montel Jordan was amazing (that was an early concert for Frank, so has soft spot in his heart). Carly Rae Jepsen was a huge crowd pleaser, and the Jessie J song was so great to hear since that was our jam when we drove around New Zealand just after getting engaged. And thank you for learning the Mariah Carey song for me to walk down the aisle to. It meant so much to me that I didn’t have to pick something already in your catalog. Your level of customization was absolutely incredible and much appreciated.
It’s very clear that you understood our vision and knew exactly how to bring it all to life. We felt like we didn’t articulate our vision to you very clearly, but you were able to work magic and thrill us! The ceremony music and cocktail hour music were perfect, and you emceed the event just the way we wanted.
Also thank you for organizing and providing such an awesome musician for our Friday night event. Your bro totally nailed our vision and we were so thrilled to have his talent at our event.
A million thank yous and I’d be happy to be a reference should a future client ever want to chat with a past bride. You delivered a flawless (and FUN) evening for us, and we won’t ever forget that.

Claire C.
September 8th 2012
Art Institute of Chicago

AH-MAZING

“You guys were AH-MAZING!”

9.15.12 Wedding @ Indian Hill Country Club

Katie Goggin - Designer Event Chicago
Sept 15th 2012
Indian Hill Country Club

THE MOST MAGNIFICENT SOUNDTRACK TO THE BEST DAY OF OUR LIVES

“Our car is coming soon to whisk us away to the airport, but Lauren and I wanted to take a moment to thank you and your incredible band for providing the most magnificent soundtrack to the best day of our lives. You went above and beyond the call at every step of the way, and words cannot express how humbled, moved and genuinely awe inspired we were by you and your band’s performance. For me especially, the music was the thing I cared the most about and you exceeded my expectations and then some. The music at the ceremony was breathtaking. The Bulls introduction and Black Keys kickstarter to the evening was so “rockstar” I get an adrenaline rush just thinking about it. And being able to get on stage with the woman I love and rock out to I Got You, will always be one of my most cherished memories of the evening. You guys nailed it on Loving Cup and (surprise!) Johnny B. Good. I have been waiting to get back up on stage with those guys since the day we graduated about 7 years ago. Your rendition of California Stars was perfect – I wish I had a recording! And your set list, was outstanding – even Call Me Maybe, which I have been humming all day!
You didn’t have to do any of these things. You could have said “no, this is too much” or “we don’t do that type of thing.” But you didn’t. You genuinely wanted to make the music an element of our wedding experience that we would always remember, and guess what – you succeeded. We will always be grateful that we chose Matt Lewis & The Union as our wedding band.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Andrew and Lauren
September 2nd 2012
The Peninsula Hotel Chicago

FELT LIKE I WAS AT A CONCERT

“Hi Matt, They were really happy! Thank you so much for everything. It was a pleasure working with you. I loved when everyone was just chilling on the couches and you sang low-key songs like Wonderwall – felt like I was at a concert! You did a great job of changing gears as needed. Thank you!!!”

Liz - Reva Nathan & Associates
July 28th 2012
MCA

WE WERE REALLY JUST BLOWN AWAY

Thank you so much for you and your band’s wonderful performance you gave at our wedding. We were really just blown away and so was everyone else! People had a great time, and our parents were so pleased. Thank you also for taking on a new 1st dance to sing, as well as cocktails duties at the last minute. It was such a great experience, Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you!”

Kate and Dan F.
January 6th 2012
The Ritz Carlton Chicago

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR CAPTURING OUR VISION

“We wanted to thank you so much for everything you guys did to make that the best celebration ever! We have heard from everyone who attended just how much fun they had and that had a lot to do with the music! You guys didn’t miss on a single thing and its obvious why you are considered the best. We tell everyone about you guys and thank you again for capturing our vision of how the night should go!”

Patrick & Maggie
September 1st 2012
The Drake Hotel

WONDERFUL PERFORMANCE

“Thank you once again for a wonderful performance. We appreciate your thoroughness and care for our client. Our team had an excellent experience and the guests had a great dancing night! We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Drake soon”

Antoinette Cahill - The Drake Hotel
November 19th 2011
The Drake Hotel

YOU REALLY MADE THE PARTY

“Just want to send you a quick “thank you” for doing such a great job on Claire and Adam’s wedding. All of the music was terrific. Please extend our thanks to the rest of the band. You really MADE the party. Several people said it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to, mostly because of the band! Wow! ”

Val Stewart
October 21st 2011
West Loop Studio

THANK YOU FOR MAKING OR WEDDING SO ABSOLUTELY UNFORGETTABLE

“Matt!!!
I am so sorry it’s taken me this long to thank you for making our wedding so absolutely unforgettable. I can’t tell you how many compliments we got on the band – everyone loved you, but most of all WE did! You kept everyone dancing and the band members were so gracious (not to mention talented). Thanks for letting us get up and sing as well – that was definitely a great memory from the evening. And everyone LOVED the ceremony music!!! Kudos all around!! Plus, there is a hilarious video of my cousins screaming all the words to “Wonderwall” at the top of their lungs – song choice was so spot on and everyone really enjoyed themselves. They don’t say “the band makes the wedding” for nothing – and you all truly made ours!
Amazing, amazing, amazing – I cannot say it enough. Thank you for helping to make the best night of our lives such a success!!”

Jake Holt Photography

Allison
August 3rd 2011
Art Institute of Chicago

WE LOVE YOU GUYS AND WILL NEVER STOP SINGING YOUR PRAISES

“We cannot thank you enough for the incredible performance you put on at our wedding reception. We had no doubt when we booked you that it would be fantastic, but you all exceeded our expectations! We had a fantastic time and never once stopped to worry about the flow of the evening or whether our guests were happy – it was an amazing evening! You were playing for a room full of musicians and they remarked to us during and after that they were all incredibly impressed with the level of musicianship you all displayed. Every single member of the band was flawless, and we love that you took time to showcase each musician. “Busta Move” was especially remarkable. Thank you for your flawless emceeing as well and of course, for the ride to the hotel! We could go on and on, but please just know that you all made our night completely unforgettable! And those transitions! So sick! We love you guys and will never stop singing your praises!”

Nora and Logan Thompson
August 3rd 2011
The Four Seasons Chicago

THANK YOU FOR SUCH AN AMAZING EVENING

Matt, I wanted to thank you so much for an amazing evening. I can’t tell you how much we appreciate all the hard work from you and your band. I have gotten nothing but the best compliments on the band and you. What a surprise that Chris played and sang It was amazing.

Hope you have a nice holiday although I have two boys I hope one day we can have you play at another party for our family. You made the night so special for Jade Chris and our entire family. Thank you again!

PHOTO CREDIT : STUDIO THIS IS

Karen Hilder
November 11th 2017
Loews Hotel Chicago

CORPORATE EVENT REVIEWS

RAVE REVIEWS ABOUT YOUR PERFORMANCE!

"Thank you so much for everything on Saturday, you guys were amazing!
Everyone has given me rave reviews about your performance! Thank you again!"

Tosha K. Associate Consultant -  CSG
Annual Holiday Party  @ Scoozi December 2012 *

* The Union has since been re-booked with this client every year.

 

ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL NYE!

“On behalf of everyone I’d just like to say thank you for another successful NYE! I spoke with our President, Rick Roman, and he said he had a wonderful time dancing! We’ll be sure to reach out soon about booking for next year. Thanks again!

Kaitlyn Maloy (Operations Manager)
NYE 2017
The Signature Room at the 95th

OUR GUESTS COULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAPPIER

“Thank you, Matt. We have been hearing great things about the band and the music you played. Our guests could not have been happier. Thank you again for your continued support of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and the Grand Chefs Gala.”

Kim Mills - Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
2013 Grand Chef's Gala
The Fairmont Chicago

YOU GUYS WERE AMAZING

“Thank you so much for everything on Saturday, you guys were amazing!
Everyone has given me rave reviews about your performance! Thank you again!”

Tosha Kiss - CSG
December 8th 2012
Scoozi

FANTASTIC JOB

“I did not have a chance to congratulate you on the fantastic job you did at the CTCA Holiday Party on Saturday, December 17th. My client was extremely happy as was I. (see their comment below)
From the Client:
Everything was awesome and the staff has not stopped talking about “GREAT” the band was….Matt himself was so personable – I sure hope we can get them again and again !!!!”

Alan Spencer - Williams Gergard Productions
December 17 2011
Chicago Marriott